Invited Speakers to the W.H. Isbister Lecture

W.H. Isbister



Kim Nam Kyu

Lectured 2016

  • Professor, Chief of Division of Colorectal Surgery Yonsei University College of
  • Medicine, Seoul Korea
  • Professor and Chairman, Department of Surgery, Yonsei University College of
  • Medicine, Seoul Korea
  • President of Korean Society of Coloproctology
  • President of Korean Colorectal Cancer Study Group
  • President of Asia Pacific Colorectal Cancer Association

Prof. Julio Garcia-Aguilar, MD, PhD

Lectured 2015

  • Chief, Colorectal Service; Benno C. Schmidt Chair in Surgical Oncology
  • Memorial Sloan-Katering Hospital
  • New York
  • USA

Professor Robin Phillips

Lectured 2014: “Gynaecological Proctology”

  • Colorectal Surgeon with a tertiary referral practice in inflammatory bowel disease, inherited cancer and anal fistula
  • Clinical Director of St. Mark’s Hospital, 2004
  • President of the Section of Coloproctology of the Royal Society of Medicine


Professor James Church

Lectured 2013: “Hereditary Colorectal Diseases Registry: Past, Present & Future”

  • Victor W. Fazio Endowed Chair in Colorectal Surgery at Cleveland Clinic in Cleveland, Ohio
  • Fellow of American Surgical Association
  • Lifetime Achievement Award, Collaborative Group of the Americas for Inherited Colorectal Cancer
  • Past Chairman, Leeds Castle Polyposis Group, International Collaborative Group for Hereditary Non-Polyposis Colorectal Cancer and InSIGHT, Current InSIGHT Council Member.
  • Co-Editor, Diseases of the Colon & Rectum, 2000-2008



Professor Richard Satava

Lectured 2012: “The Future of Surgery”

  • Prof. of Surgery, University of Washington Medical Center
  • Prof. of Surgery Yale University (Past)
  • Senior Science Advisor, US Army Medical Research & Materiel Command in Ft. Detrick, MD 
  • Prof. of Surgery (USUHS) in the Army Medical Corps, Walter Reed Army Medical Center
  • Manager of Advanced Biomedical Technology at the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency
  • White House Office of Science and Technology Policy, Committee on Health
  • Past President, Society of American Gastrointestinal Endoscopic Surgeons (SAGES)
  • Past President, Society of Laparoendoscopic Surgeons (SLS)

Professor Sultan Al Sedairy

Lectured 2011: “Innovation in Healthcare”

  • Executive Director, Research Centre at KFSH&RC-Riyadh
  • Executive Director, Prince Salman Center for Disability Research (PSCDR)
  • Under his leadership, KFSH&RC became the site of the first biotechnology complex in KSA in support of the Kingdom’s comprehensive program for science and technology
  • Credited with the establishment and implementation of guidelines for medical research pertaining to scientific and ethical values both at KFSH&RC-Riyadh and PSCDR



Professor R. J. Nicholls

Lectured 2010: “History of Ileal Pouches”

  • Emeritus Consultant Surgeon, St. Mark's Hospital
  • Visiting Professor of Colorectal Surgery, Imperial College London
  • President of the Association of Coloproctology of Great Britain and Ireland 2000
  • Editor, Colorectal Disease
  • Hon FRCSED, Hon FRCSGlas, FRCS (Halett prize)



Professor John Northover

Lectured 2009: “The Surgical Treatment of Rectal Cancer: Is There a Need to Re-visit Basingstoke Again”

  • Honorary Consultant Surgeon, St Mark's Hospital for Intestinal & Colorectal Disorders (1984-2012)
  • Prof. of Intestinal Surgery, Imperial College London 2001-Onwards
  • Director of Cancer Research, United Kingdom (Previously the Imperial Cancer Research Fund: Bowel Cancer Unit, 1984-2005)
  • President of the Association of Coloproctology of Great Britain and Ireland 2007-2008